Books & Media Homework Help events games & fun for parents About
Search the Catalog
My Library Account
Tumblebooks 4 Kids
NASD Destiny Catalog
Favorite Stories (ALA)
Get a Book We Don't Own
Online Databases
Homework Help Websites
Library Research Help
Reading Lists (NASD)
Events Calendar
Story Hour Schedule
Between the Lions (PBS)Nasa Kid's Club
Disney's Blast
Learning Planet
FunBrain
IPL Fun Stuff!
Reading With Your Kids
Parenting Information
Netsmartz (web safety)
Closings & Holidays
Membership Eligibility
Borrowing Policies
Library Business
Library History

Multiculturalism: Your Guide to Information

We created this guide to lead you through millions of information sources to the BEST books, journals, databases, and websites about multiculturalism and world cultures. This guide is for students in grades K-6.

FIND the BEST:

Books about Multiculturalism.
Databases to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles about Multiculturalism..
Websites about Multiculturalism.
Research Assistance


Books

Books about individual countries are located in the J 940 section. To find out if the library owns a book about your country, go to the library homepage at www.nazarethlibrary.org and click on the link to Search the Catalog. Type in the name of your country, and look at the list of books. You’ll want books that have call numbers beginning with the letter “J” for juvenile.

Books are organized in the library by subject. In addition to the country books mentioned above, we have lots of books on different cultural topics. The following are the general call number ranges for those topics:

The Arts: 700s
Cultural Customs (general): 300s
Food: 641s
Geography & History (books on individual countries will be found here): 900s
Religion: 200s

Ask a librarian for help on your specific country and topic.

Other selected books:

  • Lands and Peoples, 2005. Find in the library at: J REF 910 LAN 2003 v. 1-6 (cannot be checked out)

  • Lands and peoples, 2003. Find in the library at: J 910 LAN 2003 v. 1-6

  • CultureGrams. Find in the library at: REF 909.828 CUL (cannot be checked out)

 


Databases

We offer access to many databases that allow you to view the full-text of journal, magazine and newspaper articles, book chapters, reference books, images and much more. You can use any database from home 24/7. All you need is internet access and a library card!

To get to the databases, go to the Online Databases page. You'll find 2 links to databases that will be very helpful for this project: Elementary School Research, and Travel & Multicultural Research. Check out the databases in both sections for the best research articles.

If you are accessing a database from home, you will be asked for your library card number, which is the 14 digit number on your library card beginning with 21001...

Searching Tips:

When you search the databases below, use specific words in your search. For example, if you want information about religion in Spain, type the keywords Spain and Religion in the search box. Try using specific words, such as “customs,” and “fashion,” rather than broad words like multiculturalism.


Websites

The librarians have collected a list of excellent websites about Country Studies & Multiculturalism that you can view individually or search all at once!


Research Assistance

Ask for help at the library reference desk or call us during regular library hours:

HOURS:
Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays: 10am - 5pm
Tuesdays through Thursdays: 10am - 8pm

CONTACT:
phone: 610-759-4932
email: nazlib1@nazarethlibrary.org

Or ask a librarian for assistance 24/7 using the online chat box below!


ENTER YOUR EMAIL address to receive library news & updates:
For Email Newsletters you can trust

Hours

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 10am - 8pm
Wednesday 10am - 8pm
Thursday 10am - 8pm
Friday 10am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 5pm*
Sunday Closed

* July & Aug: 10am - 2pm

Borrowed Items are Due at Closing.

Contact Us

295 East Center Street
Nazareth, PA 18064
Map It!

610-759-4932 phone
610-759-9513 fax

www.nazarethlibrary.org
nazlib1@nazarethlibrary.org